I’m Not Irish but I’m Having a Great Day!

I’m not Irish (unfortunately) but I’ll wish you a happy St. Patrick’s Day nonetheless. I was doing some research and found out that Irish-Americans who wanted to reconnect with their Irish roots invented St. Patrick’s Day.  I also found out, thanks to the good folks at Guinness, that on average 5.5 million pints of Guinness are drank every day (see the link above for more information). On St. Patrick’s Day that number doubles to 13 million pints.

I also learned, thanks to Biggest Loser’s Olivia, that Guinness is one of the lightest beers. There’s only 125 (approx.) calories in a 12-ounce beer (210 in a pint). Not too shabby.  If Twitter were working I’d share BL Olivia’s Twitter page and where she got that information, unfortunately Twitter doesn’t seem to be working for me.

I figured since the Irish (and anyone else who’s “Irish” today) are having a blast that it would be a good time to mention that the luck of the Irish seems to be wearing off on me as well since I’ve had a fantastic day (and nothing to drink).

I got my first real paying graphic design job (no offense dad- and yes I’m still working on the website and it’s coming along swimmingly) and I owe it all to networking and Brazen Careerist (if you need me to hyperlink Brazen then this is probably your first time on the site…)

I get to design an ad for a magazine. I LOVE magazine’s so I’m absolutely thrilled at this opportunity. If I could have any job I wanted I would do layout for a magazine (not sure which, probably This Old House or American Bungalow or Women’s Health-they need help).  I know, I’m far from that dream of doing magazine layout but I also didn’t wake up this morning expecting my first paying graphic design gig either. I don’t even have my portfolio online yet…

Anyway, over the past few month’s I’ve been expanding my graphic design skills to include Dreamweaver and Flash, but honestly, they don’t come as naturally to me as InDesign or Illustrator. So needless to say I’m excited that I’ll get to work in my old favorite InDesign, which is what one would use for magazine layout.

Additionally I’m excited because although I know it’s one ad, it feels like I’m on the right track to making my goals of getting into graphic design come true. I also feel like I absolutely made the right decision to move down to NC and quit my previous job in the mortgage industry.*

I feel busy and happy and excited all at the same time. I can hardly believe that I’m going to be paid by someone (outside my family) to do something that I honestly would do for free because I enjoy it so much! I haven’t had a job like that since I was 15 and gave tours at the local museum in my hometown.**

It’s true what they say; good things come to those who wait and today has definitely been a good day.

*To all of you in the mortgage industry- my hat’s off to you. It’s absolutely NOT for the faint of heart!

**Which by far has been my favorite job ever. I liked it so much that I didn’t mind dressing in garb from the 1850’s… and no, there are no pictures.

One Comment on “I’m Not Irish but I’m Having a Great Day!”

  1. fdcarlso says:

    Congrats on the job opp! I hope you have a blast with it :)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 93 other followers