What Have You Done for Your Job Search?

I’m reminded of John F. Kennedy’s speech where he states “Ask not what your country can do for you, but what you can do for your country.” I know cliche, but for some reason it keeps popping up in my head. I’ve got some spare time on my hands now that both my graphic design projects are done (for now, still working on the Telient Version 2.0 website in my head, but I thought it would be a good idea to step away for a few days before tackling that one). Oh, and did I forget to mention that my job is boring…?

Anyway, this has given me more time to think and JFK’s speech keeps surfacing, except I keep thinking of it as “Ask not what your job search can do for you, but what you can do for your job search” and from there it became “What have I done for my job search today?”

Everyday I try to do one thing to further my career. Sometimes it’s blogging, sometimes it’s networking and sometimes it’s something as small as posting a comment on Brazen Careerist or someone’s blog.

When tackling something huge, like a career change, it’s best to take baby steps. I know that I’m probably not going to be a full fledged graphic designer or CEO of a fortune 500 company tomorrow, but if I keep taking jobs on the side, doing the best I can and networking to get more jobs I’ll get closer and closer to that goal. So, today I’ve decided to focus on networking since I just completed my graphic jobs and networking could lead to more graphic jobs.

See, no life changing decisions made, just one simple idea to talk to some people and given that I’m planing to meet a friend today and hit up a dog bar, that shouldn’t be tough. Additionally, at the end of the day, I can feel good knowing that I did do something for my career.

One Comment on “What Have You Done for Your Job Search?”

  1. fdcarlso says:

    I’m glad to see the job search hasn’t gotten you beaten down. It’s always such a big help to stay positive so you can stay motivated. I personally can’t say I’ve done a whole lot in my job search– but that’s me and mine, and my priorities are elsewhere at least for now.

    All you can do is try try try! Oh, and don’t listen to the advice of your crazy DIY co-workers…


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.