Some Things Never Change

dalton_gang_scope_reasearch_paper

Today I was contacted by the Northfield Historical Society which is the local museum in my hometown. In 8th grade I participated in a program called SCOPE. I can’t for the life of me remember what that stands for but I know I got out of my least favorite class, and more importantly, teacher and instead I got to go hang out at the museum for a few hours every other day. That’s when I wrote the paper attached to this post. It has a few typos but all in all, my writing at the ripe old age of 14 was not bad… I also gave my first ever speech on this very same topic, which my dad informed me was the best presentation of the bunch (and I’m sure his critique was 100% objective…).

I volunteered at the museum starting in 6th grade when I signed up for a summer program. I got to explore the archives and develop my love for history. I continued volunteering until I graduated high school and went to college.  I worked in the gift shop, at the admissions desk, and helped out during The Defeat of Jesse James Days (or Jesse James Days as everyone else calls it).

The museum also gave me my first job, as a tour guide. I was paid $200 to give tours for 6 weeks in the summer before 9th grade. I dressed in a costume reminiscent of the late 1800′s with a bustle and all and taught museum goers about the day the James-Younger Gang rode into Northfield, MN on September 7th, 1876.

To this day being a Tour Guide is the best job I’ve ever had. I loved everything about it, giving tours to museum goers, learning everything I could about the James-Younger Gang and the history of Northfield, and most of all the museum environment. Just thinking about it gives me fond childhood memories and makes me remember lost dreams of wanting to become a museum curator.

Feeling particularly lost with my job search and getting this e-mail from the Northfield Historical Society may have been just what I needed. Perhaps it’s the universe’s way of reminding me of my true passion and giving me a bump in the right direction.  After I sign the contract allowing the Northfield Historical Society to post my research paper online I think I’ll look into museum jobs and a masters program to see if there’s a way to pursue this forgotten dream.

One Comment on “Some Things Never Change”

  1. Cleo says:

    How cool is that! I agree, you should look into working for a museum and maybe a masters program. You loved that job…


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.