Consider Yourself Retooled

AKA Boo Boo Begging

I’m retooling my blog. Writing about unemployment is all well and good but it felt limiting and I just got sick of it.  It’s depressing to write about finding a job (especially if you don’t have one yourself) and honestly after I found a job what interest I had in writing about finding a job went the way of the dinosaur.

I stopped blogging because I couldn’t come up with things to write about finding a job and for some reason I was trapped in a box thinking I’d have to create a new blog so I could write about other topics.  The only problem was that I got worried about that too. What if I got sick of the new topic? Now, why I thought I had to pick one specific topic and why I thought I would have to delete this blog and start over, I’m not sure…

But anyway, about a week ago I had an epiphany.  I logged back into WordPress and realized I could just change the blog I have to make it fit me now. And if I need to change it again tomorrow, next year, 10 years from now, and again and again I can do that.  [DUH!!!!]

My only problem was that I wanted to give it hook, or a little something (besides the title) that describes me.

I’m in the middle of reading “The Pathfinder” by Nicholas Lore, which was recommended by Jen Gresham and I’m trying to figure out what I want to be when I grow up, which entails figuring out what I’m passionate about. I just started reading, but so far I’ve got: dogs, fitness and buildings, which I then decided to rename design because who doesn’t love some good old fashioned alliteration?

So I decided that should be my new blog and more specifically what I’m going to write about.  I know I deeply love and frequently step on my soapbox about those three passions, so why not write about them? Pretty much every topic (and there are many) I want to write about fit into one of those three categories and if it doesn’t, so be it.

I just felt I needed to make a commitment to the things I love and write about them, and heck, writing is so much easier if you’re passionate about the topic. I’m going to go with this for now and tweak it as I go, which is pretty much how anyone does anything. The important thing is to pull the trigger, and although I’m deeply anti-guns (I smell a future post…) that’s just what I had to do.

Enjoy!

One Comment on “Consider Yourself Retooled”

  1. grannema says:

    Great blog! I’m impressed and plan on continuing to following you in your world.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.