Water into Wine

A message keeps coming through to me lately, it’s that I need to turn my weaknesses into strengths.

Writing for me is a weakness. It’s something I’m drawn to, something that I know I need to cultivate but I keep putting it aside. When writing is added to my “to do” list it’s the last thing I work on and it always/usually gets ignored.

I know why I ignore my writing, between assuming that I’ll never be good enough, thinking I have nothing to say and my fear of judgement (specifically in written format) this isn’t easy for me, but I know the more I do it the better I’ll become and the better I’ll become the more confidence I’ll have to get my novel published.

For a long time I fought writing. I never even thought of it as an option much like most blind people don’t paint and most deaf people don’t listen to music (let alone compose it) but writing kept creeping up in the back of my head that I’ve got stories to tell, and I love figuring out how the pieces of a story fit together so here I am. Reviving my personal blog and working on the 2nd draft of my novel.

I wrote my novel last year, and casting aside my fears and doubts I let my husband read it. He has an MFA in screenwriting so he knows a few things about story and he ripped it apart. I mean that in the best possible way, his few edits exploded my story but they also felt like a guide showing me the forest for the trees. It was great, however I’ve lost some steam, which is why I’m being sent the message to continue turning my weakness into a strength.

I need this message now more than ever and each time it comes to me it feels like a smack in the forehead because it’s so true, a weakness is only that if you do nothing to fix it. And that’s exactly what I’m going to do.

Leave a Reply

